business Blogging Full-Tiine

Sparkster

Has anyone been able to make a successful full-time business from blogging? Personally, I've been doing this for seven years now and whilst I do make a regular income from it which helps out a lot, I am nowhere near making a full-time living from it and I don't imagine that I will ever be able to. I could blog full-time and generate reasonably large amounts of traffic and I have a huge network of hundreds of thousands of people to promote those posts to, but even if I blogged full-time (between eight to ten hours a day), I still wouldn't make anywhere near as much money as I would from a job. Has anyone else out there been able to make blogging a full-time thing? If so, how long did it take and how active are you?

fcuco

I would say that bloggin is like the movies: it is a hit based industry, while the vast majority of productions (or blogs) struggle for a piece of the pie you have a few huge players like some of these famous fashion bloggers, that capture all the traffic and not only can make a living out of bloggin, but actually become very wealthy.

Frank

Staff member
You have to slowly work into it. When you generate enough income to make the jump, and be able to work on it full time without putting yourself into too much debt from any loss of wages, then you should be good to go.

It took me about a year to build up to enough income worth leaving my old job.

There's a LOT of perks to this, such as waking up whenever you want, but if you work from home - alone, you'll find yourself out to lunch almost every day just to experience normal people.

Gets boring waking up and going to your living room and not having any real interaction with people, so I went out to lunch a lot!

Marsan